LTH Home

Where can I eat mloukhieh?

Where can I eat mloukhieh?
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
     Page 1 of 2
  • Where can I eat mloukhieh?

Post #1 - December 19th, 2009, 11:39 pm
    Post #1 - December 19th, 2009, 11:39 pm Post #1 - December 19th, 2009, 11:39 pm
    Knowing my interest in food, a colleague of mine--whose in-laws are from and live in Iran--has been supplying me with spices and different foodstuffs from Tehran's Grand Bazaar. I'm just starting to learn about preparing Persian dishes, and my reading has piqued my interest in other culinary traditions from the Middle East. Today I came across the following video by artist Larissa Sansour. Soup Over Bethlehem (2006) depicts a family on the West Bank partaking in a meal of mloukhieh, the national dish of Palestine, as they discuss the soup they're eating along with other topics.

I've never heard of mloukhieh, but the video made me want to try some. Are there any Chicago restaurants serving it?

Thanks,
    Sharon
  • Post #2 - December 19th, 2009, 11:48 pm
    Post #2 - December 19th, 2009, 11:48 pm Post #2 - December 19th, 2009, 11:48 pm
    Fascinating video...and now I, too, must eat mloukhieh. My guess is you have to pretty much make it at home...though I'd rather someone else made it for me, as I am so occupied during the holidays.
    "Don't you ever underestimate the power of a female." Bootsy Collins
  • Post #3 - December 19th, 2009, 11:56 pm
    Post #3 - December 19th, 2009, 11:56 pm Post #3 - December 19th, 2009, 11:56 pm
    Hi,

Next to Larsa on Dempster is an Iranian grocery store (or at least there was). It is the only shop I have gone to with pictures of The Shah and Empress of Iran posted prominently on the wall. They may be the hub of whatever Iranian community there may be. I suggest asking them for ideas where this may be enjoyed, then please let us know.

Regards,
    Cathy2