LTH Home

Cafecito in the Loop

Cafecito in the Loop
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
     Page 1 of 2
  • Cafecito in the Loop

Post #1 - August 26th, 2008, 10:48 am
    Post #1 - August 26th, 2008, 10:48 am Post #1 - August 26th, 2008, 10:48 am
    Cafecito, a sandwich and coffee shop, recently opened at 26 East Congress Parkway. They offer about 15 pressed sandwiches with a Cuban bent (as in the country, not the potential owner of the Cubs), including a Cubano and Lechon. They also offer a few salads, some desserts and a few take out style side dishes. I tried the Cubano, and I'm no expert on authenticity (I've had one or two before), but I thought it was an excellent sandwich. The sides didn't have much appeal (an Alfajore cookie, however, looked good), but I'll be back to try other sandwiches. The place is a bit out of the way and I'm guessing they are going for a student crowd.

http://www.cafecitochicago.com/

Jonah

Cafecito
    26 E. Congress Pkwy
    Chicago, IL
    312-922-2233
  • Post #2 - August 26th, 2008, 10:52 am
    Post #2 - August 26th, 2008, 10:52 am Post #2 - August 26th, 2008, 10:52 am
    Thanks for the tip. This sounds promising. With the departure of Bom Bon, we could use another quality sandwich operation in the loop. I'll check it out soon.

Best,
    Michael
  • Post #3 - August 26th, 2008, 1:23 pm
    Post #3 - August 26th, 2008, 1:23 pm Post #3 - August 26th, 2008, 1:23 pm
    I too had a pretty good pressed-sandwich experience on a recent visit to Cafecito. Sidewise, we had some very good plantain chips (in a bag like potato chips, don't remember the brand). They also carry a good selection of sodas I'd never seen before. I think I had a Materva.
  • Post #4 - August 26th, 2008, 1:31 pm
    Post #4 - August 26th, 2008, 1:31 pm Post #4 - August 26th, 2008, 1:31 pm