LTH Home

Today's Discovery

Today's Discovery
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
     Page 1 of 13
  • Today's Discovery

Post #1 - February 10th, 2015, 5:13 pm
    Post #1 - February 10th, 2015, 5:13 pm Post #1 - February 10th, 2015, 5:13 pm
    I searched and couldn't find anything quite like this. There are things I find that are by no means "the best thing I've eaten," but are still interesting and/or tasty and/or unusual enough that I'd like to share them. So I thought I'd start a thread for sharing stuff one runs across that doesn't warrant its own thread but also doesn't fit in a "best" list.

On the way home from a speaking engagement, as I was on Oakton, my car steered itself into Super H Mart. I got the stuff I usually buy, but I always try to pick up at least one or two things I've never tried before. Today's discoveries were from the snack aisle.

Elena's Original LAPID Fried Chicken Skin Chicharon was bound to catch my eye. Not as good as hot, fresh, grilled chicken skin in a Japanese restaurant, but this was in a package that could be taken home. It is very crunchy but softer than fried pork skin. Seasoned with garlic, chili pepper, cayenne pepper, and black pepper, it has a kick. It's so rich, two or three pieces were all I could manage. But I thought it was fun and tasty and worth mentioning, even if not in the "best thing I've eaten" category.

Also tasty: Boy Bawang Cornick_ Lechon Manok Flavor. The picture on the bag included an ear of sweet corn, a roast chicken, and a cartoon garlic bulb, which told me all I really needed to know. Because this snack is made with sweet corn, while it's still crunchy, it's not the tooth-breaker that Corn Nuts can be, while also being sweeter. Again, not a "best of," but tasty and crunchy -- and the sort of thing I like to take to parties if asked to bring snacks, rather than more ordinary stuff.